Dark Chocolate Coffee Cupcakes with Marshmallow Coffee Buttercream

I get a lot of things from my dad. My brown eyes, olive skin, and “solid” build all come from him. My annoyingly obsessive attention to detail, dry sense of humor, and predisposition to mornings go to his credit too. While some of the traits I have gotten from him are genetic, I’ve also picked up a lot of learned behaviors from him over the years. Since I was a little girl I’ve been watching him and studying him and mimicking him – it’s only natural that some of his habits and traits would eventually become mine. For better or worse.
There’s one thing he does though that I will just not do. Never, ever will I be okay with doing this. Never, EVER. It is a habit so disgusting, so repulsive I can barely bring myself to write it (I’m really making you want one of those cupcakes up there, aren’t I?).
My father reuses day-old coffee.
There. I said it. And may have gotten a little queasy.

Read more »

Comments

  1. These look amazing! I love chocolate cake recipes that incorporate coffee – it makes them so much more delicious! By the way, I adore your cow creamer! So cute.

  2. Thank you! I have been tweaking my chocolate cake recipe and the coffee really knocked these outta the park!I got the creamer at a flea market for $4, I couldn't resist. It just makes cream that much cuter 🙂

  3. Yes, please! I've been adding a little bit of espresso powder to all of my chocolate desserts ever since the Barefoot Contessa told me to. It's science, food science!

  4. Haha I love this. I don't even like drinking coffee that is hours old and has to be microwaved. You should throw it in a pitcher with ice and put it in the fridge. Day-old iced coffee is OK! Or you could just keep making these delicious-looking cupcakes :)Sues

  5. I've tried iced coffee – every possible way – and it just isn't for me. I don't know why. So for now it's hot coffee or cake…either one is good with me 😉

  6. Well, Ina is never wrong. Ever.

Leave a Reply

No Plate Like Home

Helping moms succeed at home..

Gourmet Mari Chef

Original Dairy-Free Recipes, Food Styling, and Photography by Mariana

Honestly YUM

Life is a balancing act.

Bake at 350°

Life is a balancing act.

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

NinetyCo

Life is a balancing act.

Style Sweet CA

Life is a balancing act.

Willow Bird Baking

Lessons in Life and Kitchen Confidence

Lauren Loves

Life is a balancing act.

Midwest Nice

Midwestern born and bred, southern friend and fed

Jessi Kneeland

Life is a balancing act.

Today's Letters

Life is a balancing act.

Sprouted Kitchen

Life is a balancing act.

Eat, Live, Run

Life is a balancing act.

Pastry Affair

Life is a balancing act.

