Fig and Goat Cheese Breakfast Biscuits

“Are you learning anything new at the bakery?” my grandmother asked as I was elbow deep in biscuit dough. I tried to scrape the sticky mess off my fingers and think of a decent response, both efforts were futile.
“Oh, I don’t know. Not really. Maybe?” came my reply as I sprinkled flour onto the table and over my rolling pin. After forming the lump into a somewhat recognizable shape, I began to roll. My grandma watched and waited, nipping off a bit of dough with her fingers and tasting it, giving me her approval.
“You know, I always use a pizza or pie cutter to even out the edges when I’ve got a dough like that,” my grandma said after her sample. I took a knife and evened out the edges, giving myself a neat rectangle. Hmm, that’s better, I thought.
I spread not-so-softened goat cheese over the dough, taking care not to tear it and using my fingers when necessary; her eyes watched me the entire time. She mentioned something about whipping it with honey, for added sweetness. I contemplated and then disregarded it, staring at the lumpy goat cheese before me.

Read more »

Leave a Reply

No Plate Like Home

Helping moms succeed at home..

Gourmet Mari Chef

Original Dairy-Free Recipes, Food Styling, and Photography by Mariana

Honestly YUM

Life is a balancing act.

Bake at 350°

Life is a balancing act.

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

NinetyCo

Life is a balancing act.

Style Sweet CA

Life is a balancing act.

Willow Bird Baking

Lessons in Life and Kitchen Confidence

Lauren Loves

Life is a balancing act.

Midwest Nice

Midwestern born and bred, southern friend and fed

Jessi Kneeland

Life is a balancing act.

Today's Letters

Life is a balancing act.

Sprouted Kitchen

Life is a balancing act.

Eat, Live, Run

Life is a balancing act.

Pastry Affair

Life is a balancing act.

