Apple Tart with Oat Crumble and Apple Infused Caramel

I accidentally made a tart. Yeap, you read that correctly. I accidentally made a tart.

Initially, I was trying to make hand pies. But my first attempt at those failed abysmally. And they didn’t even involve apples. I was trying a new recipe for dinner with my neighbors and it was the dough and the oven versus me and the timer. Sadly, I was on the losing team. Something, somewhere just didn’t quite go right. My neighbors still ate them, bless their hearts. And, they inspired me in the process!  

With a mouth full of less-than-impressive hand pie one said, “How quickly do apples go bad? You’ve got, like, eight sitting here.” He motioned to my overflowing fruit bowl. Apparently, no proper single gal has eight apples sitting on her counter. I decided not to tell him I had more apples in the fridge…

I knew that despite eating one or two apples a day as a snack, they were going to go south before I got around to finishing them. I figured baking with them would be the best use of my time, but I couldn’t stomach the idea of more cake. Then I remembered the extra pie dough sitting in my fridge and knew exactly what I would do. An apple tart!
When the going gets tough, the tough make tarts.

Read more »

Leave a Reply

No Plate Like Home

Helping moms succeed at home..

Gourmet Mari Chef

Original Dairy-Free Recipes, Food Styling, and Photography by Mariana

Honestly YUM

Life is a balancing act.

Bake at 350°

Life is a balancing act.

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

NinetyCo

Life is a balancing act.

Style Sweet CA

Life is a balancing act.

Willow Bird Baking

Lessons in Life and Kitchen Confidence

Lauren Loves

Life is a balancing act.

Midwest Nice

Midwestern born and bred, southern friend and fed

Jessi Kneeland

Life is a balancing act.

Today's Letters

Life is a balancing act.

Sprouted Kitchen

Life is a balancing act.

Eat, Live, Run

Life is a balancing act.

Pastry Affair

Life is a balancing act.

