Studying

“Every morning I wake up, before I put on my makeup, I say a little prayer for youuuuuuuuuu.”

Besides this being one of my favorite songs and favorite movies (ever), this is also something I practice. When my alarm goes off at 5:06 every morning the first thing I do is reach for my phone. No, I’m not checking text messages or Facebook notifications (I don’t get a whole lot of those), I’m reading the Bible.

This, by far, has been one of the best decisions I’ve made in recent weeks. Starting each day with Scripture has made a noticeable impact on my days. I’m happier, I’m calmer, I’m able to cope with stress better. I’m ¾ of the way through the Soul Detox Plan and am so happy I’ve finally gotten around to doing it after seeing it on She Reads Truth months ago.

I haven’t been approaching this study like others. I’m not taking notes, I’m not writing in a journal. I say a quick prayer beforehand, read through the day’s passage a couple times and just sit with it for a few minutes. It’s relaxing and rejuvenating – a great way to ease into my day.

The less intense approach I’m taking to this study leaves my heart more open to the message. I don’t feel like it’s an academic pursuit. I’m not studying, I’m just learning.

So, here’s to kinda-sorta-almost studying on Saturdays.

Leave a Reply

No Plate Like Home

Helping moms succeed at home..

Gourmet Mari Chef

Original Dairy-Free Recipes, Food Styling, and Photography by Mariana

Honestly YUM

Life is a balancing act.

Bake at 350°

Life is a balancing act.

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

NinetyCo

Life is a balancing act.

Style Sweet CA

Life is a balancing act.

Willow Bird Baking

Lessons in Life and Kitchen Confidence

Lauren Loves

Life is a balancing act.

Midwest Nice

Midwestern born and bred, southern friend and fed

Jessi Kneeland

Life is a balancing act.

Today's Letters

Life is a balancing act.

Sprouted Kitchen

Life is a balancing act.

Eat, Live, Run

Life is a balancing act.

Pastry Affair

Life is a balancing act.

