Georgia On My Mind

I am a terrible tourist. I really am. I see vacations as an opportunity to eat, eat, and eat. Maybe throw in a little snacking too – to jazz things up. When the soul reason for going to Savannah was to visit a bakery, I wasn’t expecting to do much more than eat for four days.

SONY DSC

Surprisingly though, we did do a little more than eat. We drove our fancy rental car, we walked around the gorgeous parks and historic district, we shopped (well, I shopped, my Dad sat in a chair looking unenthused).

SONY DSC

The highlight of course, was the food. It’s what I use to get a real feel of the city I’m visiting and what I remember most after any trip. Savannah has given me so many amazing memories I can’t wait to go back and make more.

The Olde Pink House:

SONY DSC

Our first night in Savannah we had dinner at The Olde Pink House. We didn’t have reservations (hello, terrible tourists!) so we sat outside but I wasn’t about to complain! The weather was gorgeous, there was only one other table near us, I got to gawk at the surrounding streets and soak in the amazing city. (The cute waiter was the cherry on top of a wonderful meal.)

SONY DSC

I had the pork roast with collard greens and sweet potatoes. Doesn’t sound too fancy or mind-blowing right? Wrong! The pork was cooked perfectly; the collard greens were buttery, and the sauces! Oh! The sauces! The pork was glazed with an amazing molasses bourbon barbecue sauce that was tangy and had a sweet heat and was such a lovely compliment to the meat, I happily ate the entire thing. And if that sauce was good, the pecan vanilla crème that was poured over the sweet potatoes was indescribable. Sweet, but not cloyingly so, with a pure vanilla flavor, it made my entrée feel like a dessert without being too heavy. I want to take a bath in that sauce.

SONY DSC

Dad got the almond crusted tilapia and I’ve never seen him enjoy a fish dish more (and my dad is as meat and potatoes as they come). I think the shrimp and herb butter sauce really helped too 😉 The kicker though, was that he enjoyed the grits his fish was served on, like ate-them-all enjoyed them. This from a man who said “I’m not really a grits kinda guy” when we were ordering.

SONY DSC

Of course we saved room for dessert – a delectable slice of key lime pie that was tangy and sweet and covered in fresh whipped cream. Boom. Done.

SONY DSC

Sandfly BBQ:

I can’t be down South and not get barbecue! That’s just un-American. We found this tiny joint in a strip mall on the edge of the city and were blown away! There were only 8 booths that were constantly full and people were walking in and out getting pick-up orders, a recommendation in itself! I got the beef and pork plate – a combo of their beef brisket and pulled pork. I was actually dancing in my seat the meat was so good!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

They didn’t sauce their meats before serving, instead leaving three different kinds of sauces at the tables. The mustard based house sauce was my favorite, followed closely by the tomato based. The ribs my dad got had such an amazing smoky flavor and a nice crust that sauce wasn’t really necessary.

SONY DSC

North Beach Bar & Grill:

SONY DSC

This meal was by far the biggest surprise of the trip! I was automatically comfortable when we walked into this bar and restaurant. It was well-worn and casual – like a classic pair of jeans. The servers were sassy, funny, and attentive and the FOOD! I was expecting kinda dive-y, run-of-the-mill bar food but was completely blown away by what we got instead! The signs all over that said “please be patient, all food is cooked to order” or “we cook everything fresh, it’s worth the wait” made me feel optimistic.

I had scallops with mint rice and a sweet thai peanut sauce with sesame seaweed salad that was so delectable my mouth is watering just thinking about it. I get really nervous ordering scallops because they’re such an easy protein to screw up but I’m glad I took the risk! They were beautifully caramelized on the outside but soft and buttery and perfectly cooked on the outside.

SONY DSC

Despite how good my meal was, I had a bit of entrée envy for my dad’s! He had a gigantic ribeye, cooked to a perfect medium-rare, with two glorious slabs of GRILLED PORK BELLY on top. It was all drizzled with a red wine sauce and served with broccolini and fingerling potatoes. It was the perfect meal for my dad, for sure!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

We took pieces of their coconut cake and white chocolate key lime pie to-go and enjoyed them while pajama-clad in our hotel room. The coconut cake was “meh” but the pie was even better than the one from The Olde Pink House. Dad and I may have fought over it.

***

And now, some none food related snapshots!

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

I’m thinking of starting a new photography installation called “The Dogs of Savannah.” I think we saw more dogs than people!

***

We also ate at:

Goose Feathers Café (quick and tasty sammies!)

Café GelatOhhh (the chai latte gelato, oh man.)

Local 11ten (tiny portions, weird sauces, even weirder waiters)

Leopold’s Ice Cream (ICE CREAM!)

Sundae Cafe (another strip-mall gem)

And, of course, Back In The Day Bakery (full review/recap to come!)

SONY DSCDad is going to kill me for these photos…oh well…

Comments

  1. I love Savannah but your pictures really, truly capture some of the most precious aspects of the city. Glad you took so many – and so many gorgeous ones! 🙂

    • Thank you! I had so many more, but had to narrow it down somehow. The ones of Back In The Day are really my favorite, can’t wait to share those!

Leave a Reply

No Plate Like Home

Tasty one pot and 30 min meals

Gourmet Mari Chef

Original Dairy-Free Recipes, Food Styling, and Photography by Mariana

Honestly YUM

Life is a balancing act.

Bake at 350°

Life is a balancing act.

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

NinetyCo

Life is a balancing act.

Style Sweet CA

Life is a balancing act.

Willow Bird Baking

Lessons in Life and Kitchen Confidence

Lauren Loves

Life is a balancing act.

The Daily South

Southern Living Blog

Midwest Nice

Midwestern born and bred, southern friend and fed

Jessi Kneeland

Life is a balancing act.

Today's Letters

Life is a balancing act.

Sprouted Kitchen

Life is a balancing act.

Eat, Live, Run

Life is a balancing act.

Pastry Affair

Life is a balancing act.

