Music to my ears

I’m sure I’m not alone when I say that music is an integral part of my life. I wake up to music, workout to music, shower to music. I spend my entire day with music. Living alone, I use music to fill the silence and entertain me – I have had many solo dance parties while cleaning.  Music can affect my day – make it better, comfort me, uplift me, on and on.

I listen to different music for any given scenario. I have particular playlists for certain moments and events: country for driving back home; Frank, Louis, Glenn and the gang for cooking; something peppy for cleaning; screamo/rock/punk for working out (yes, screamo).

And lately, I’ve been making a lot of changes when it comes to the kind of music I play and the artists I listen to. I had never really considered that those kinds of things affect my relationship with God, but they do. What I choose to entertain myself with can either bring me close to Him or pull me away.

I am still finding music in every genre I like, for every situation, but I feel better knowing that by listening to it I am also listening to God and honoring Him.

So here are some of my favorites. They help me wake up, keep me optimistic, and make workouts all the more fun.

  • Mandisa’s Good Morning is literally the best way to start your day. My church back home even plays it before service sometimes.
  • Monster by Skillet is what I play near the end of a workout when the tank is almost empty.
  • The Almost is what I gravitate too when I’m feeling angsty or annoyed, but lately I’ve just been listening to them during work..not sure what that means. Say This Sooner is my current favorite.
  • When I need perspective and feel like I am at my lowest point, honestly the lowest of the low and hopeless, I turn on Redeemed by Big Daddy Weave for some much needed perspective.
  • I love anything and everything by Needtobreathe. It’s the best music for yoga, writing, driving, just relaxing. The sound is amazing and I love the “feel” of the music, if that makes sense. Washed By The Water was the first song I heard from them, and I still love it.
  • Shawn McDonald makes good driving music, peppy and uplifting. Take My Hand is on my iPod right now.
  • Believe it or not, I listen to Writing On The Walls by Underoath whenever I am headed to work at my job back home. I’m a waitress and for some reason, I think this song makes me a better server.
  • Much like Monster (or any song by Skillet, actually), Move by Thousand Foot Krutch is what gets me through my workouts.

And last, but not least, The Stand by Hillsong United. It was the song the worship band played the night I accepted Christ. It feels weird to have so many powerful emotions tied up to this song, but it was a powerful experience and a life changing one.

Leave a Reply

No Plate Like Home

Tasty one pot and 30 min meals

Gourmet Mari Chef

Original Dairy-Free Recipes, Food Styling, and Photography by Mariana

Honestly YUM

Life is a balancing act.

Bake at 350°

Life is a balancing act.

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

NinetyCo

Life is a balancing act.

Style Sweet CA

Life is a balancing act.

Willow Bird Baking

Lessons in Life and Kitchen Confidence

Lauren Loves

Life is a balancing act.

The Daily South

Southern Living Blog

Midwest Nice

Midwestern born and bred, southern friend and fed

Jessi Kneeland

Life is a balancing act.

Today's Letters

Life is a balancing act.

Sprouted Kitchen

Life is a balancing act.

Eat, Live, Run

Life is a balancing act.

Pastry Affair

Life is a balancing act.

