Thursday Things

1)     It was my friend Tess’s birthday on Tuesday. She requested a red velvet cake with “super sugary frosting.” So that’s exactly what she got! I’m enjoying playing around with layer cakes more and more, I think it’s a sign I’m becoming more patient.

red velvet fez

2)     Another sign is that I haven’t cursed once this week while driving to the office. This is big. Not that I swear like a sailor on leave, but driving really frustrates me. I’m becoming a whole new person. And it’s terrifying.

3)     HANSON PUT OUT AN ANNIVERSARY ALBUM. And you can download it here.

4)    Speaking of Hanson, enjoy this cover of them performing an acoustic version of Ain’t No Sunshine. The only sunshine I need is what’s reflecting off of Zac’s glorious locks. Love.

5)     My baby sister is going to her first prom this weekend. Part of me refuses to accept this, even though I was with her when she bought her dress. Part of me feels really old. Part of me will forever see her as a chubby four-year-old in a karate uniform. And a huge, gigantic part (ie: all of me) wishes I could be home this weekend so I’m there to help her get ready, take pictures and stay up late waiting for her to get home safely.

6)     I’m going to be super predictable/boring/annoying and write about the crazy Midwestern weather. Shocker, I know. It was in the 80s the last two days and now it’s down to 50 something. I cannot deal. But drastic times call for drastic measures and I successfully put my air conditioning unit in yesterday. Pretty good job, eh? (Yes, that’s pink duct tape and cardboard.)

air conditioner

7)     I haven’t done dishes in a few days so I’m relegated to getting creative with how I pack my lunch for work.

8)     I want all of these ice cream sandwiches. Now. Now, now, now, now, now. Particularly, 1, 11, 12, and 14. Honorable mention: 6 and 17.

9)     I’m glad I’m not the only one tired of Bonnie.

10)   20 Most Essential Items In Your 90s Beauty Kit. I abused 2, 6, 12 and 14 all the time in middle school. And am only slightly ashamed of it.

Comments

  1. 1. That red velvet cake looks gorgeous! I’m not even a red velvet lover, but I want to dive face-first into that slice. 9. High-five. The show is dark enough, especially this season… having magic should fun and Bonnie drives me absolutely crazy!

    • OMG the cake, THE CAKE I seriously cannot even begin to tell you how good it is! Cheryl and Griff know what they’re doing! And yes, Bonnie is super annoying, though I might be biased b/c I am slightly obsessed with Jeremy. Which is another post entirely.

Trackbacks

  1. […] is my friend, Tess. Remember her? It was her 20th birthday a few weeks ago and we ate cake. She wore a fez. She really likes cake…and […]

Leave a Reply

No Plate Like Home

From Scratch, Tasty Home Cooking!

Gourmet Mari Chef

Original Dairy-Free Recipes, Food Styling, and Photography by Mariana

Honestly YUM

Life is a balancing act.

Bake at 350°

Life is a balancing act.

Pinch of Yum

A food blog with simple and tasty recipes.

NinetyCo

Life is a balancing act.

Style Sweet CA

Life is a balancing act.

Willow Bird Baking

Lessons in Life and Kitchen Confidence

Lauren Loves

Life is a balancing act.

The Daily South

Southern Living Blog

Midwest Nice

Midwestern born and bred, southern friend and fed

Jessi Kneeland

Life is a balancing act.

Today's Letters

Life is a balancing act.

Sprouted Kitchen

Life is a balancing act.

Eat, Live, Run

Life is a balancing act.

Pastry Affair

Life is a balancing act.

